Four area students named Presidential Scholars at Indiana Tech

Indiana Tech has selected four northeast Indiana students as the recipients of the university’s elite Presidential Scholarship for its fall 2019 incoming class. Kristen Forti of Shield of Faith High School in St. Joe; Jared Maxwell, a home-schooled student from Fort Wayne; Jaxon Rinkenberger of Adams Central High School in Monroe; and Chloe Smithley of Snider High School in Fort Wayne were selected from a group of 46 high-achieving applicants to receive the prestigious scholarship.

Indiana Tech recognized its four newest Presidential Scholars during a special scholarship signing ceremony in the Abbott Center on March 22.

Presidential Scholars at Indiana Tech undergo several stages of application, interviews and review as part of the selection process. Each Presidential Scholar must demonstrate excellence in academics and extracurricular activities, a high level of character and a commitment to community service. Throughout their college careers at Indiana Tech, Presidential Scholars work together on community service and leadership development projects in addition to their academic and extracurricular pursuits.

Dr. Dan Stoker, vice president for student affairs and chair of the Indiana Tech Presidential Scholars selection committee, noted, “Each year, the quality of the applicants to Indiana Tech’s Presidential Scholars program is very impressive. These students are doing exceptional things not only in the classroom, but out in their communities, too. This year was no different—we had nearly 50 applicants, and each of them were excellent candidates for the Presidential Scholar program. Kristen, Jared, Jaxon and Chloe rose to the top of a special group, and we’re excited to have them become Warriors this fall.”

During her time at Indiana Tech, Forti intends to pursue a degree in communication. Rinkenberger plans to study biomedical engineering and will play on the Warrior men’s tennis team, while Smithley will pursue a degree in sports management and play on the Tech women’s tennis team. Maxwell plans to pursue a degree in health science.

This year’s group of 46 Presidential Scholar applicants included seven Eagle Scouts and Girl Scout Gold recipients, two high school valedictorians, one salutatorian, and 19 students who intend to compete in intercollegiate athletics. Half of all applicants had a high school GPA of 4.0 or higher.

In the photo, from left to right: Kristen Forti, Jared Maxwell, Jaxon Rinkenberger and Chloe Smithley.